Mines of the West Pennines

British Mining No 91 – Mines of the West Pennines

by Richard Smith & Sam Murphy

The main subjects are the lead mines, although some iron and coal mines are mentioned briefly.

The monograph contains mine plans and histories of the major mines at Cross Fell, Silverband, Dun Fell, Knock, Dufton, Netherhearth, Hardshins, Birkdale, Murton, Hilton, Long Fell, Stainmore, Brough, Hartley, Ravenstonedale and Mallerstang together with information on smaller mines and trials.

A separate section deals with the smelting mills.

The monograph includes many tables and 76 illustrations.

A5 216pp
ISBN-13: 978-0-901450-67-8
(NMRS members discount 25%)
Booksellers and trade terms on request

Look Inside to see some sample pages including the table of contents. The index is also available to view.