Collieries after Nationalisation in 1947

Dates in brackets indicate the date that the colliery merged with another
Name Opened Closed (Merged)
Ammanford 1891 September 1976
Betws New Mine 1974 July 2003
Cefn Drim 1910 June 1978
Cwmgwili 1960 November 1996
Graig Merthyr 1868 June 1978
Lindsay 1962 (June) (1968) Merged with Cwmgwili
Llandebie 1904 December 1958
Mount 1930 January 1959
New Cross Hands 1899 May 1962
Pantyffynnon 1858 January 1969
Saron 1930 September 1956
Talyclyn 1870 February 1952
Wernos 1905 November 1965

Collieries closed before 1947

Amman Anthracite Colliery Brynamman
Blaen-Cae-Gurwen Colliery Brynamman
Brook Drift or Gwaun-cae-Gurwen No3 Gwaun-cae-Gurwen
Brynamman Colliery Brynamman
Caerbryn Colliery Llandebie
Cawdor Colliery Brynamman
Cwmnantmoel Colliery
Emlyn Colliery Cross Hands
Garnant Colliery Brynamman
Gorsgoch Colliery Brynamman
Park & Blaina Colliery Penybanc
Duffryn Amman Colliery Pontamman
Pontyclerc Colliery Pantyffynnon
Raven Colliery Brynamman
Rhos Colliery Pantyffynnon
Rhos Amman Colliery Brynamman
Tir-Y-Dail Colliery Pantyffynnon

Small Collieries of the Amman Valley
Small Collieries of the Amman Valley worked under NCB Licence

Return to previous page